Cracking the Unknown Tomb: Science-blogging

King Tutankhamen’s tomb near Luxor (1923), The Times [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

In the next few weeks, I embark on a new adventure in my Master’s course at Chatham U, ¡SCIENCE!  A science-blog a week for six weeks covering myriad topics from the astrophysical peculiarities of Super Massive Black Holes (not a proper noun demanding capitals, but I’m not gonna be the one to tell Mrk335 that) to the social science vagaries of the Milgram and Zimbardo studies (neither of which are as damning as popular perception).

A word of warning: I am NOT a scientist.  I have neither spiffy lab-coat nor umpteen letters trailing my name.  I have a background in English creative-writing and a foreground in belligerent skepticism.  In college, I was voted most likely to say “¿What crappy source told you that?  Yanno, 83% percent of all statistics are made up on the spot.”  (that last fact is totally true, though the growth of the internet has reduced that number by ~8%).  I didn’t date much in college.


“Why does the sun come up? Or are the stars just pin holes in the curtain of night, who knows?”

Ramirez, Highlander (1986)

I’ve gotten better since college (marginally) as I’ve slowly realized knowledge is a process rather than a product.  In my case, the last moment of my childhood was the meta-cognitive realization that not only will I never know everything, but that most of what I did know was either pointedly relative or downright inaccurate.  A focus on answers, on “Truth”, obscured the greater pursuit of investigation and the punctuated equilibrium of analysis.  There is no end-point to science or education; only more and better refined questions.  At least in my case, I’ve found far greater fulfillment, joy, and revelation in uncovering the hidden maze of the unknown than in admiring the few gaudy trinkets of my accumulated knowledge.

I’ll be collecting topics as I go, but am happy to address anything you find interesting.  Just leave a comment and I’ll do my level best to research and spread the word.  I’ll be experimenting with form and style as I work to explore topics and fulfill my scholastic obligation.  A large part of the process is reading anything and everything provocative, so if you know a good feed or blog I should check out, don’t keep it to yourself.  Thanks.


p.s. 75% +/-2% of readers won’t find the above false statistic.

3 thoughts on “Cracking the Unknown Tomb: Science-blogging

  1. Creative writing and science go pretty well together, as I hope you will discover. I picked up a Chemistry major in undergrad and took an English creative writing minor, so I don’t think it’s like mixing oil and water at all. I just started a science blog, too, so good luck to both of us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

